Magic City Morning Star

Advertising | RSS Feed | About Us 

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2013 - 12:38:22 AM 

An eclectic mix of news and information
Staff Login
Donate towards our web hosting bill!

Front Page 
  -- Local
  -- State
  -- National
  -- IRS News
  -- Win at Work
  -- History
  Tech Notes
  -- Comics
  -- R.P. BenDedek
  -- Kenneth Tellis
  -- M Stevens-David
  -- Down the Road
  Today in History
  -- Editor's Desk
  -- Guest Column
  -- Scheme of Things
  -- Michael Devolin
  -- Tom DeWeese
  -- Ed Feulner
  -- Jim Kouri
  -- Julie Smithson
  -- J. Grant Swank
  -- Doug Wrenn
  Agenda 21
  Book Reviews
  -- Old Embers

Web Directory Reviews
WDR Directory of Directories
Restore The Republic - The Home of the Freedom Movement!


Maine Elks State Hoop Shoot Championship Results
By Maine Elks
Feb 5, 2008 - 11:17:20 AM

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

SANFORD -- The Maine Elks Association (MEA) State Hoop Shoot competition was held on February 3, 2005, at Sanford High School. The event was hosted by the Sanford Elks Lodge #1470. Eighteen boys and girls competed in the contest to determine the six state champions, who have earned the right to advance to the regional contest to be held in South Portland on March 27-30, 2008.

Here are the final standings:

Girls 8-9
  1. Taylor Sargent, Portland Elks Lodge #188
  2. Karli Levesque, Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954
  3. Victoria Littlefield, Gardiner Elks Lodge #1293
Boys 8-9
  1. Ryan Pratt, Farmington Elks Lodge #2430
  2. Brad Bouchard, Sanford Elks Lodge #1470
  3. Carter Bruce, Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954
Girls 10-11
  1. Abby Pyne, Bangor Elks Lodge #244
  2. Rachel Berry, Gardiner Elks Lodge #1293
  3. Sarah Clement, Portland Elks Lodge #188
Boys 10-11
  1. Benjamin Leet, Augusta Elks Lodge #964
  2. Isaiah Patterson, Rockland Elks Lodge #1008
  3. Scott Smart, Old Town Elks Lodge #1287
Girls 12-13
  1. Alexandra Palazzi-Leahy, Portland Elks Lodge #188
  2. Mariah Willey, Houlton Elks Lodge #835
  3. Cheyenne Malloy, Skowhegan-Madison Elks Lodge #2531
Boys 12-13
  1. Samuel Grindle, Greater Ellsworth Elks Lodge #2743
  2. Brendan Hall, Rockland Elks Lodge #1008
  3. Austin Kane, Skowhegan-Madison Elks Lodge #2531

Following the contest, the contestants traveled to the Sanford Elks Lodge, where they were treated to pizza, and were provided with Drug Awareness materials furnished by Drug Awareness Director Frank Ricker of the Maine Elks Association. Also assisting with the Drug Awareness program was "Elroy the Elk." Following lunch, the awards were presented to each contestant by State Hoop Shoot Director, Andrew Constantine, who was assisted by MEA State President Bruce Brunelle of the Sanford Elks Lodge, President-Elect Robert Drisko of the Augusta Elks Lodge, and 2nd Vice President Roger Normandeau of the Sanford Elks Lodge. Also speaking at the event was Area 1 Hoop Shoot Committeeman, Richard Blinn of Massachusettts, who spoke about the importance of the Hoop Shoot program. Blinn also expressed his sincere thanks to the Elks National Foundation and its contributors for funding the Elks National Hoop Shoot program.

Two special awards were also presented to the highest scoring boy and girl. The first award was the Allan W. Richard Outstanding Shooter Award in memory of the late Allan Richard who had served as the MEA's Hoop Shoot Chairman for 19 years. The award was presented to Alexandra Palazzi-Leahy representing the Portland Elks Lodge #188. This is the second year in a row that Palazzi-Leahy had earned this distinguished award. The Amos A. McCallum Outstanding Shooter Award, was presented by Past National President, Amos McCallum of Saco, to Ryan Pratt, representing the Farmington Elks Lodge #2430.

Pictured are Front: (L-R): Taylor Sargent, Ryan Pratt, Abby Pyne. Back: (L-R): MEA State President Bruce Brunelle, Alexandra Palazzi-Leahy, Samuel Grindle, and MEA State Hoop Shoot Director Andrew Constantine. Missing from Photo: Benjamin Leet.

Since its inception in 1946, the Elks National Hoop Shoot competition has grown to include more than 3 million participants annually, making it the largest non-profit co-educational sports program in the country. Much of the funding for the program comes from the Elks National Foundation, the charitable arm of the Benevolent & Protective Order of Elks. For more information on the Benevolent & Protective Order of Elks, visit or

© Copyright 2002-2013 by Magic City Morning Star

Top of Page

Latest Headlines
15-Page "Boater's Guide To Winterizing" Offered by BoatUS
25th Annual Women's Sailing Convention, Feb. 1
GOLF: ValGrine "Coup de Coeur of the Economy 2013"
A.D.Erving: Professional Basketball Player to Coach to Children's Books Writer
Fishing for a Lifetime

A Dinosaur of Education - a blog by James Fabiano.
Shobe Studios
Wysong Foods - Pets and People Too