Magic City Morning Star

Advertising | RSS Feed | About Us 

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2013 - 12:38:22 AM 

An eclectic mix of news and information
Staff Login
Donate towards our web hosting bill!

Front Page 
  -- Local
  -- State
  -- National
  -- IRS News
  -- Win at Work
  -- History
  Tech Notes
  -- Comics
  -- R.P. BenDedek
  -- Kenneth Tellis
  -- M Stevens-David
  -- Down the Road
  Today in History
  -- Editor's Desk
  -- Guest Column
  -- Scheme of Things
  -- Michael Devolin
  -- Tom DeWeese
  -- Ed Feulner
  -- Jim Kouri
  -- Julie Smithson
  -- J. Grant Swank
  -- Doug Wrenn
  Agenda 21
  Book Reviews
  -- Old Embers

Web Directory Reviews
WDR Directory of Directories
Restore The Republic - The Home of the Freedom Movement!


MEA State Hoop Shoot Winners Announced
Feb 9, 2006 - 6:21:00 PM

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
AUGUSTA -- The Maine Elks Association (MEA) State Hoop Shoot competition was held on February 5, 2006, at Cony High School in Augusta. The event was hosted by the Augusta Elks Lodge #964. Eighteen boys and girls competed in the contest to determine the six state champions, who have earned the right to advance to the regional contest to be held in Nashua, New Hampshire on March 24-26, 2006.

Here are the final standings:

Girls 8-9

  1. Carmen Bragg
  2. Alaina Marson
  3. Annie Graziano


  1. Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954
  2. Augusta Elks Lodge #964
  3. York Elks Lodge #2788

Boys 8-9

  1. Isaiah Patterson
  2. Garvey Melmed
  3. Justin Evans


  1. Rockland Elks Lodge #1008
  2. Old Town Elks Lodge #1287
  3. Farmington Elks Lodge #2430

Girls 10-11

  1. Tori Field
  2. Josie Lee
  3. Chandler Guerrette


  1. Bath Elks Lodge #934
  2. Augusta Elks Lodge #964
  3. Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954

Boys 10-11

  1. Mitchell Worcester
  2. Konnor Scarponi
  3. Derek Withee


  1. Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954
  2. Brunswick Elks Lodge #2043
  3. Skowhegan-Madison Elks Lodge #2531

Girls 12-13

  1. Kayla Richards
  2. Kayla Corson
  3. Chelsea Morley


  1. Presque Isle Elks Lodge #1954
  2. Skowhegan-Madison Elks Lodge #2531
  3. York Elks Lodge #2788

Boys 12-13

  1. Sean Murphy
  2. Andrew Austin
  3. Dustin James


  1. Portland Elks Lodge #188
  2. Greater Ellsworth Elks Lodge #2743
  3. Farmington Elks Lodge #2430

(Front) L-R: Isaiah P. representing the Rockland Elks Lodge, Carmen B. representing the Presque Isle Elks Lodge, Mitchell W. representing the Presque Isle Elks Lodge, Tori F. representing the Bath Elks Lodge, Kayla R. representing the Presque Isle Elks Lodge, and Sean M. representing the Portland Elks Lodge. (Rear) L-R: MEA State President Elmer Berry and MEA State Hoop Shoot Director Andrew Constantine.

Following the contest, the contestants traveled to the Augusta Elks Lodge, where they were treated to lunch, and were provided with Drug Awareness materials furnished by the Maine Elks Association. Following lunch, awards were presented to each contestant by State Hoop Shoot Chairman, Andrew Constantine, who was assisted by MEA State President Elmer Berry of the Lewiston Elks Lodge, 1st  Vice-President Greg Daniels of the Presque Isle Elks Lodge, 2nd Vice President Bruce Brunelle of the Sanford Elks Lodge, and 3rd Vice President Robert Drisko of the Augusta Elks Lodge, District Hoop Shoot Chairman Shawn Stacey of the Bangor Elks Lodge, and District Hoop Shoot Chairman George Jones of the Augusta Elks Lodge. Also speaking at the event was Area 1 Hoop Shoot Committeeman, Richard Blinn, who spoke about the importance of the Hoop Shoot program. Blinn also expressed his sincere thanks to the Elks National Foundation and its contributors for funding the Elks National Hoop Shoot program.

Two special awards were also presented to the highest scoring boy and girl. The first award was the Allan W. Richard Outstanding Shooter Award in memory of the late Allan Richard who had served as the MEA's Hoop Shoot Chairman for 19 years. The award was presented to Tori Field representing the Bath Elks Lodge. The Amos A. McCallum Outstanding Shooter Award, was presented by Past National President, Amos McCallum of Saco, to Sean Murphy, representing the Portland Elks Lodge.

Since its inception in 1946, the Elks National Hoop Shoot competition has grown to include more than 3 million participants annually, making it the largest non-profit co-educational sports program in the country. Much of the funding for the program comes from the Elks National Foundation, the charitable arm of the Benevolent & Protective Order of Elks.

© Copyright 2002-2013 by Magic City Morning Star

Top of Page

Latest Headlines
15-Page "Boater's Guide To Winterizing" Offered by BoatUS
25th Annual Women's Sailing Convention, Feb. 1
GOLF: ValGrine "Coup de Coeur of the Economy 2013"
A.D.Erving: Professional Basketball Player to Coach to Children's Books Writer
Fishing for a Lifetime

A Dinosaur of Education - a blog by James Fabiano.
Shobe Studios
Wysong Foods - Pets and People Too