Magic City Morning Star

Advertising | RSS Feed | About Us 

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 - 1:29:23 AM 

An eclectic mix of news and information
Staff Login
Donate towards our web hosting bill!

Front Page 
  -- Local
  -- State
  -- National
  -- IRS News
  -- Win at Work
  -- History
  Tech Notes
  -- Comics
  -- R.P. BenDedek
  -- Kenneth Tellis
  -- M Stevens-David
  -- Down the Road
  Today in History
  -- Editor's Desk
  -- Guest Column
  -- Scheme of Things
  -- Michael Devolin
  -- Tom DeWeese
  -- Ed Feulner
  -- Jim Kouri
  -- Julie Smithson
  -- J. Grant Swank
  -- Doug Wrenn
  Agenda 21
  Book Reviews
  -- Old Embers

Web Directory Reviews
WDR Directory of Directories
Restore The Republic - The Home of the Freedom Movement!

Maine Elks

Maine Elks Win Area 1 Ritual Championship for 3rd Straight Year
Apr 26, 2005 - 12:14:00 PM

Email this article
 Printer friendly page
HARTFORD, VT -- For the third year in a row, the Maine Elks Association Past Exalted Ruler's (Lodge Past President's) Ritual Team, led by Coach Phil O'Brion of Farmington, won the Area I Interstate Relations Past Exalted Ruler's Ritual Contest. This year, the Maine team edged out second place New Hampshire in the competition with a score of 96.6697 out of 100.

The Area I contest was held on April 24, 2004, at the Hartford Elks Lodge in Hartford, Vermont. Six teams competed, representing states from across New England and New York. The purpose of this contest is to promote excellence in the performance of the initiatory ritual of the Elks, and to foster better relations between State Elks Associations.

This particular contest, open only to Past Exalted Ruler's, is particularly difficult, as each state typically sends only their best ritualistic teams to the competition to compete for the coveted title. During the contest, five judges evaluate each team's performance based on the following Criteria: Impressiveness, Pronunciation, Word Accuracy, Movement (Deportment), and Appearance.

Earning recognition as Area I Past Exalted Ruler Champions are: Exalted Ruler: Sharon Pray. (Sanford), Leading Knight: Roger Normandeau (Sanford), Loyal Knight: Rick Williams (Biddeford-Saco), Lecturing Knight: Wayne Cotterly (Lewiston), Esquire: Bruce Brunelle (Sanford), Chaplain: David Strand (Bath), Inner Guard: Robert Drisko (Augusta), Candidate: Debbie Hamblen (Portland), and Coach: Phil O'Brion (Farmington). Also contributing to the team's win were assistant coaches Harry Desjardins (Biddeford-Saco) and Frank Ricker (Sanford).

Several members also received recognition for winning their individual chairs. The individual winners were: Sharon Pray performing as Exalted Ruler, Bruce Brunelle as Esquire, and David Strand as Chaplain. Here are the final standings:





New Hampshire






New York



Rhode Island





L-R: Debbie Hamblen, David Strand, Wayne Cotterly, Roger Normandeau, Sharon Pray, Rick Williams, Robert Drisko, Bruce Brunelle, and Frank Ricker.

© Copyright 2002-2013 by Magic City Morning Star

Top of Page

Maine Elks
Latest Headlines
Maine Elks Honor American Flag
Maine Elks Announce Youth Award Winners
Maine Elks Install Officers
They Shoot, They Score!
Maine Elks Announce 2009 State Hoop Shoot Winners

A Dinosaur of Education - a blog by James Fabiano.
Shobe Studios
Wysong Foods - Pets and People Too